Income Tax 

The City of Powell has a two percent (2.0%) municipal income tax that is imposed on anyone who earns income in the City of Powell and on Powell residents who earn income elsewhere. The City of Powell provides 100% credit up to 2.0% for taxes withheld or paid to the workplace municipality for individuals.

Note: Not all Powell, Ohio, addresses are within the City of Powell. To confirm residency, please call the City offices at 614.885.5380, ext. 0, or visit here.

Helpful Reminders:

-The city of Powell income tax is collected by the Regional Income Tax Agency (RITA).

-Estimated quarterly payments are required for individuals who have not had Powell taxes withheld from their income.

-If you need tax forms or more information, contact the central Ohio branch of RITA at 866.721.7482 or visit here.

Interest Rates

The interest rate to be applied each calendar year is calculated by adding five percentage points to the federal short-term rate (rounded to the nearest whole number percent) in accordance with Ohio Revised Code Section 718.27. The rate applies for the calendar year next, following the July of the year in which the federal short-term rate is determined under Section 1274 of the Internal Revenue Code.

The interest rate that will apply for the calendar year 2023 is 7%.

A table of interest rates that applies to previous years is below.

Interest Rates
Calendar Year Annual Rate
2023 7%
2022 5%
2021 5%
2020 7%
2019 7%


How does this work? Visit here for more information.

Important Information for Tax Filers and Preparers

Taxpayer Rights and Responsibilities

Tax Ordinance for Tax Year 2015 and Prior Years

Property Tax

Information about Powell’s real estate valuation, tax rates, and special assessments can be found on the Delaware County Auditor’s website.

The Delaware County Auditor collects property taxes and other real estate data for all government entities in our county and distributes them on a semi-annual basis.

Business Tax

The City of Powell does not require a special business registration but the State of Ohio does require a Vendor’s License and Business Registration in order to conduct sales.

Please refer to The Ohio Department of Taxation for more information.

Sales Tax

The sales tax in Delaware County is seven percent. 

Municipal Income Tax Changes (effective January 1, 2016)

The City of Powell amended its income tax code to include all the changes made by the Ohio Legislation through House Bill 5. The 130th General Assembly passed and Governor John Kasich signed into law Amended Substituted House Bill 5 in December, 2014 which mandates municipal income tax ordinances be amended in accordance with the provisions and limitations specified in Chapter 718 of the Ohio Revised Code. These changes take effect January 1, 2016.


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.