Boards & Commissions


Powell City Council appoints and relies on specialized boards to assist on items requiring action or recommendations. This allows proactive community members with unique talents to pull together for a collective good. We have outlined some of the City of Powell’s Boards and Commissions below and encourage you to get involved.

Anyone interested in applying to serve on any of these organizations may submit a Powell Board & Commission Application form and resume of qualifications to 47 Hall Street, Powell, OH 43065-8357. All applications qualifying for consideration will remain on file for two years.

Board of Tax Appeals:

The Board of Tax Appeals meets on an as needed basis to review appeals of the Tax Administrator.

Board of Zoning Appeals:

The Board of Zoning Appeals hears requests for appeals to a zoning violation. They also have the authority to grant or deny zoning variances. The five member board is appointed by Council and meets on the first Thursday of the month at 6:30 p.m.

Community Diversity Advisory Committee

This eight-member commission provides input to City Council on policy and processes which promote diversity and inclusion to ensure that the City of Powell is a community in which all individuals are welcome and included. All candidates must be a resident of, or representative of a business, within the City of Powell.

SourcePoint: Thrive after 55:

The Council for Older Adults appointee is a representative from the City of Powell who help continue the mission of improving the quality of life for the older population of Delaware County by helping to improve a community-based system of effective services and opportunities.

Delaware General Health District:

The Delaware General Health District appointee is a City of Powell representative who helps make Delaware County the best place in which to live and work through healthy people, healthy habits and healthy communities.

Historic Downtown Advisory Commission:

The Historic District Advisory Commission was established to review aesthetic changes in Powell’s Historic District. There are currently five members appointed by City Council. The commission meets on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m.

Personnel Board of Review:

The City of Powell Personnel Board of Review is a three-member board that is responsible for prescribing, amending and enforcing rules consistent with the City Charter and Council ordinances regarding civil service positions.

Planning and Zoning Commission:

Seven members comprise the Planning and Zoning Commission. The members, appointed by City Council, serve four-year terms. The Planning and Zoning Commission makes recommendations to Council on a variety of development-related issues as well as amendments to Zoning Code. The Commission meets the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

Powell Community Improvement Corporation:

The Community Improvement Corporation is composed of a five-member board of directors that works to advance, encourage and promote the development of the City of Powell. Board members, which are appointed by City Council, serve two-year terms. Powell CIC meets on an on-call basis.

Records Commission:

The City’s Records Commission is established pursuant to the rules and regulations of the State of Ohio.

Tax Incentive Review Council:

The Tax Incentive Review Council is established under the provisions of the Ohio Revised Code. Annually, the Council reviews all agreements granting exemptions from property taxation and any performance and/or audit reports required pursuant to those agreements. Members are appointed by City Council for three-year terms. The TIRC meets annually.


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.