Powell announces dynamic events schedule for 2022

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 

(POWELL, Ohio)—Jan. 7, 2022—The city of Powell plans to host several new events in 2022 and bring back beloved signature events such as the Powell Festival and Lolli-Pops! Children’s Concert Series.

New events include Third Fridays on the Green, Movie Night on the Green Summer Series and Playhouse in the Park.

“Events bring the community together,” said City Manager Andrew White. “The past two years have been difficult. Many of our residents have been isolated from neighbors and loved ones. Our events serve as a way to enhance the quality of life in Powell and help our businesses and community partners. All events will be held outdoors and give ample room for guests to socially distance while still enjoying the event together as a community.”

Events will be paired with the city’s Designated Outdoor Refreshment Area (DORA) that was established in 2020. The DORA program runs from 11 a.m.-10 p.m. Thursday-Sunday and allows licensed liquor establishments in the designated area to sell alcohol at special times that can be carried out of their establishments in specially marked cups.

Third Fridays on the Green

Fire & Ice Night – 6-9 p.m. Friday, Jan. 21 – Village Green Park

Join us for an evening of ice sculpting, music, roaring bonfires, food and more.

Chocolate Walk – 6-9 p.m. Friday, Feb. 18 – Downtown Powell

Enjoy strolling the streets of downtown Powell while experiencing chocolate from participating establishments, listening to jazz musicians and more.

St. Patrick’s Day – 6-9 p.m. Friday, March 18 – Village Green Park

Slainte! Village Green will be buzzing with music, food trucks and fun activities for the whole family to enjoy.

Earth Day Celebration – 6-9 p.m. Friday, April 22 – Village Green Park

This month’s theme will feature music, food trucks, neighborhood clean-up kits to go and more.

Garden & Symphony Night – 6-9 p.m. Friday, May 20 – Village Green Park

Dog Days of Summer – 6-9 p.m. Friday, July 15 – Village Green Park

Passport to Powell – 6-9 p.m. Friday, Aug. 19 – Village Green Park

Police & Fire Night – 6-9 p.m. Friday, Sept. 16 – Village Green Park

Comedy Night – 6-9 p.m. Friday, Oct. 21 – Village Green Park

Community Harvest – 6-9 p.m. Friday, Nov. 18 – Village Green Park

Powell Festival

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the signature Powell Festival. The Festival will return this year from 5-11 p.m. Friday, June 24 and noon-11 p.m. Saturday, June 25 with an exciting entertainment line-up, endless activities for children, food trucks, fireworks and more.

Easter Egg Hunt

10 a.m. Saturday, April 9 – Village Green Park

Memorial Day Parade & Ceremony

10 a.m. Monday, May 30 – Downtown Powell & Greater Powell Veterans Memorial

Lolli-Pops! Children’s Concert Series

The beloved Lolli-Pops! Children’s Concert Series returns this year at 10:30 a.m. Monday, June 6, July 11 and Aug. 1 in Village Green Park, 47 Hall Street.

Movie Night on the Green Series

8:30 p.m. Friday, June 10, July 8 and Aug. 12

Village Green Park

Playhouse in the Park

10:30 a.m. Monday, June 20, July 18 and Aug. 15

Village Green Park

Mystery Night Out

6-8 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 2

Village Green Park

Fall Festival & Tailgate

6-11 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 1

Village Green Park

Candy by the Carload

4-6:30 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 23

Seldom Seen Park

Veterans Day Ceremony

11 a.m. Friday, Nov. 11

Greater Veterans Memorial in Village Green Park

Holidays in Powell

Noon-7 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 3

Municipal Building, Village Green Park & Downtown Powell

 

###

LET'S CONNECT